Cyprus Wine Regions

Cyprus Wine Regions & Classification

There are 4 areas or designated Viticultural regions identified for Cyprus:
  • Akamas Laona region on the North West Coast that can produce red & white wine.

Red blends should be derived from at least 85% of 2 local varieties Maratheftiko and Ofthalmo. For white wines the local variety Xynisteri should form 85% of the blend.

  • Vouni Panayias – Ambelitis on the Western part of the island producing white and red wine.

White uses Xynisteri (least 85%). Red wines use either Maratheftiko or Ofthalmo (at least 85%), or Mavro of at least 60% but supplemented by 30% + of one of specific foreign varieties such as Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah, Merlot etc.).

  • Pitsilia. A region of around 32 villages in the mountains of Cyprus producing red & white wines

White wines use Xynisteri of at least 85% of the blend, red use either Maratheftiko or Ofthalmo of at least 85% of the blend. Alternatively, the blend may be made from 60% Mavro and 30% of one of a specified foreign variety.

  • Limassol. On the south slopes of the Troodos mountains are 20 villages

The wine villages which make up this region producing red & white wine using the same grape blends & varieties as in the Pitsilia region

Regional Wines (Vin de Pays)

Table wines may also have a regional designation if they originate in one of the four districts; Nicosia, Limassol, Paphos or Larnaca. Essentially these categories correspond to the French “Vin de Pays” wines.